Month: April 2013

  • Vows

    I've thought often about what kind of vows I consider taking should I ever have the privilege of marrying someone.  

    Without going to far into my own thoughts on what I would say, I offer these as a good set of vows.  They are clearly Christian, and they are deeply rooted in the text and context in which we understand Ephesians 5.  Before anyone takes offense about misogyny or chauvinism, I submit to you that having a husband who leads by sacrificing isn't 重男轻女。。。The challenge to any couple making vows like those below is realizing that they are both unattainable as broken humans, but that they can remain a sign post or a pole with which to organize one's marriage and responses to the stress and challenges that are implicit in the journey of marriage.

    Mull.  I'll respond to these more personally in a later post by this weekend.

    Yes, it's been a long time.

    Thanks CY and TC, EN and MN!

     

    Bride-

     

    I vow to you before friends, family, and God these things, which apart from the grace of God, I cannot fulfill because of my present weaknesses and continued sinfulness.

     

    As the church loves Christ sacrificially

    so I vow to give up all things to love you apart from Christ

    As the church loves Christ supremely above all else

    so I vow to always delight only in you apart from Christ

    As the church loves Christ eternally

    so I vow to love you until my dying day

    As the church cherishes Christ

    so I vow to regard you as my greatest treasure next to Christ

    As the church submits to Christ

    so I vow to submit to you

    As the church represents Christ

    so I vow to represent you with all dignity and honor

    As the church obeys Christ

    so I vow to respectfully obey you

    As the church serves Christ

    so I vow to serve you with all humility and patience

    And just as the church

    Will forever remain the bride of Christ

     

    So I vow to never depart from or abandon you,

    For richer or for poorer

    In sickness and in health

    For better or for worse

    Until death do us part

     

    By my love, I hope to prepare you

    For the Lord Jesus Christ, whose love

    I can only hope to faintly imitate.

     

    Groom

     

    I vow to you before friends, family, and God these things, which apart from the grace of God, I cannot fulfill because of my present weaknesses and continued sinfulness.

     

    As Christ loves His church sacrificially

    so I vow to sacrifice all for your sake apart from Christ

    As Christ loves His church supremely

    so I vow to forever delight in only you apart from Christ

    As Christ loves His church eternally

    so I vow to love you until my dying day

    As Christ provides for His church

    so I vow to provide for you

    As Christ sanctifies His church

    so I vow to lead you in holiness

    As Christ cherishes His church

    so I vow to make you my greatest treasure next to Christ

    As Christ leads His church

    so I vow to lead you in accordance to the holy commandments

    of our God and King

    As Christ serves His church

    so I vow to serve you with all humility and patience

    And just as Christ has promised

    Never to leave or forsake His church

     

    So I vow to never depart from or abandon you,

    For richer or for poorer

    In sickness and in health

    For better or for worse

    Until death do us part

     

    By my love, I hope to prepare you

    For the One whose love

    I can only but hope to faintly imitate.