Month: May 2014

  • What is Music?

    A friend of mine -
    In fact, my sister-in-law, once wrote a piece titled what I've written above. I won't try to re-capitulate what she'd written, nor will I write something that even pretends to complete. But here, as I listen to Marvin Gaye's What's Going On? Jacky Cheung's many many pieces, a smattering of Bread, and a bit of Jim Croce... I can't help but remember that Music, at its heart, is a language for the soul. Passing from eons past to eons yet to come, there is something sublime and transcendent in the tones that speak in math and in spirit.

    440 hz. And segment and multiply.

    Harmonically constructive, destructive.

    It builds and speaks to the soul. (Though obviously, it can destroy)

    How can I live without the muse that music is? How can I live the music, without a muse within?

    What is Music?

    It's a mirror for my soul.